Skip to content

Posts de Bolanle Alake-Apata

De nouvelles conclusions sur l’IMT révélées

Dans le cadre d’une série de sondages d’opinion publique, dix groupes de Canadiens ont été interrogés afin de comprendre les principaux besoins, sources et défis en matière d’information sur le marché du travail (IMT). Nous avons représenté les conclusions clés sous forme de tableaux de bord, d’aperçus sur l’IMT et de présentations publiques. Cependant, nous…Lire la suite

Aider les immigrants grâce à l’information sur le marché du travail

La semaine dernière, j’avais le privilège de représenter le CIMT à l’occasion du 5e Forum bisannuel sur l’immigration d’Ottawa organisé par le Partenariat local pour l’immigration d’Ottawa (PLIO). Partant des constatations de notre recherche sur l’opinion publique au sujet des immigrants récents, j’ai parlé de l’importance de l’information sur le marché du travail lorsqu’il s’agit d’aider les nouveaux arrivants à s’établir et…Lire la suite

Comprendre les pénuries de main-d’œuvre et de compétences et y faire face

Le 9 avril, le CIMT a participé à la Conférence d’orientation du printemps 2019 de l’Ottawa Economics Association (OAE) et de la Canadian Association Business Economics. Cette conférence annuelle est une occasion pour les professionnels de l’économie, des affaires et des politiques de se réunir pour discuter et partager des idées sur les enjeux économiques les plus importants au…Lire la suite

Un événement sur l’avenir du travail pas comme les autres

Le monde du travail se transforme. Si on regarde le nombre de nouvelles possibilités de carrière émergeant des avancées technologiques, les restructurations et perturbations des emplois et le domaine florissant de la prévision des pertes et gains d’emplois, c’est évident. À titre d’économiste au CIMT et membre du conseil d’administration de la Ottawa Economics Association (OEA), ces tendances…Lire la suite

Skip to content

Posts by Bolanle Alake-Apata

Canadian Immigrants and COVID-19 Employment Impacts

In recent years, labour force growth in Canada has been driven by international immigration and older Canadian-born workers staying in the workforce longer. By 2031, an estimated 80% of Canada’s labour force growth will come from immigration as larger, older cohorts of Canadians retire and fertility levels remain below the rate of replacement.  Although immigrant…Read More

Digging Deep Reveals New LMI Findings

We conducted a series of public opinion surveys on ten groups of Canadians to understand their top labour market information (LMI) needs, sources and challenges. We reported key findings through a series of dashboards, LMI Insights and public presentations. But, we also wanted to gain deeper insights, such as whether young people face different LMI…Read More

Supporting Immigrants with Labour Market information

Last week, I had the privilege of representing LMIC at the 5th Biennial Ottawa Immigration Forum organized by the Ottawa Local Immigration Partnership Group (OLIP). Based on our public opinion research findings on recent immigrants, I discussed the importance of labour market information (LMI) in supporting newcomers settling in and integrating to Canada. This blog highlights the key takeaways from that presentation.…Read More

Understanding and Dealing with Labour and Skill Shortages

On April 9, LMIC participated in the Ottawa Economics Association and Canadian Association Business Economics 2019 Spring Policy Conference. The annual conference is an opportunity for economics, business and policy professionals to come together to discuss and share ideas on the most important economic issues in Canada. This year’s conference explored the ways in which Canada can build resiliency for the future.…Read More

Not Your Average “Future of Work” Event

The world of work is changing. This is evident by the number of new job opportunities stemming from technological advancement, the restructuring/disruption of jobs, and the burgeoning field of predicting future job gains and losses. Since I am an economist at LMIC and a board member of the Ottawa Economics Association (OEA), these emerging and uncertain trends are…Read More